A Traveller's Guide Blog
The Monster Lady  

A Traveller’s Guide: Laeroth (Guest Post from H.C Newell)

Hiya! Welcome to another “Traveller’s Guide”!

“A Traveller’s Guide…” is a fun little project where authors introduce us to their realms, worlds, and hidden places. There will be times where I (or a certain goblin) will guide you around parts of Venari, but there will also be times (like today!) when another author will pop in and take us on a little adventure.

In this edition, author H.C. Newell will be introducing us to Laeroth as part of the Escapist Book Co’s tour for “The Forbidden Realms”.

“The Forbidden Realms” is the second book in Newell’s dark fantasy series “Fallen Light”.

About “The Forbidden Realms”:

Nerana is a sorceress. An exile. The Child of Skye.

And she isn’t alone.

After a vicious attack against the Order of Saro, Nerana finds herself lost in the wastelands of Aragoth. Forbidden of humans or evae, the desert is a land teeming with fire and vengeance, and Nerana’s only hope for survival lies in the trust of another.

Aélla, a powerful evaesh sorceress, travels the desert on a pilgrimage of sacrifice and strength. Determined to enter the Realm of Elements and see her quest complete, she must survive the hardened warriors of the desert, the vaxros, who banished her kind from their land centuries ago.

But the vaxros aren’t the only threat, and the weight of such imbalance could shift the fate of the world.


Get a little taster here (link to PDF document).

Let’s go to Laeroth!

Welcome to Laeroth!

The land of whispering mountains, dense forests, and arid wastelands. Come explore as we dive into each of the territories and learn a bit more about our world, cultures, and people, who are most eager to meet travelers such as yourself!

The first thing you should know about Laeroth, and what may be most confusing to foreign travelers, is the human country, Laeroth, which shares a name with the continent itself. Along with the country of Laeroth, there are five additional territories within our vast and wonderful continent: Nyn’Dira, Aragoth, Vleland, Uadin, and Erasin. These territories, which once lived together in prosperity and peace, have long been divided by ignorance, greed, and long-standing rivalries. Be sure to visit them on your ventures, but be wary, traveler, as there are many dangers you may face when entering borders which are not your own.



Largest in land mass, Laeroth is home to the largest population of humans. In fact, this region has a human population density of more than 99%, making it the least diverse country in the continent. Within this country are four separate regions: Skye, Llyne, Styyr, and Ravinshire.

Skye is known for its rolling hills, beautiful coastal cliffs, and cool weather. The capital region houses the Temple of Rothar, a holy sanctuary that only the utmost citizens, clergyman, shamans, and priests may enter. Only those permitted by the High Priest may enter the borders of Skye.

Llyne was once the apex of logging and timber within the human territories. After the founding of the Broken Order Brotherhood, Llyne quickly became the central hub of the rebellion, and is now considered a liberated hold, free from the constraints and laws of the Order of Saro. 

Styyr was once revered as the greatest place to live in all of Erolith. Scholars, alchemists, apothecaries, and dabblers of the arcane came from all over the world to study and teach at the renown colleges. After the inauguration of High Priest Beinon, the colleges were permanently closed, and Styyr quickly became a shell of its former glory.

Ravinshire is known as the most devout of all the human territories. Although it holds the largest landmass of any human occupied land, Ravinshire is the least populated. The hardy men and women of the south pride themselves on being strong, resilient, and above all else – devout. They revere the Divines above all else and respect the priests of the Order of Saro as their chosen leaders.


Revered as the most beautiful place in all the world, though none but the natural inhabitants may enter its protected borders. Home to various races and several evaesh (elvish) clans, Nyn’Dira is a mysterious and dangerous place that is forbidden to all humans by way of the Order, and the elves. Nyn’Dira is home to the ydris, gorn, and more than ten evaesh clans, the most prominent of which being clans Klaet’il, Rhyl, and Saevrala.


A rugged desert wasteland of vicious creatures and deadly occupants known as the vaxros. The brutish race called the fiery nation of Iziazan their home before the volcano erupted and forced their people into Laeroth. With the rise of the Order of Saro, and war brewing between the other races, the vaxros have closed their borders to anyone not of their blood. Alongside the vaxros, the aboriginal y’lenae (evaesh race) and immigrant dreleds also call this region their home.


Vleland is oft overlooked and forgotten by those who do not call the dreary wetlands home. Protected by magic, the once beautiful country has been reduced to sodden hills. Being a race unable to thrive in the sunlight, the constant need for cloud coverage and humidity has made Vleland a very dangerous, and very undesirable place to be.


The towering mountains were once the seat of power in the ancient days of the ahn’clave. Though the dreleds and dwarves consider the mountains their home, they’ve long since moved from the rugged terrain and have spread themselves throughout the continent. What was once a glorious and monumental place of power is now a wasteland of ancient ruins and inaccessible caves.

The isles of Erasin

Mountainous and tropical islands, Erasin remains virtually uninhabited due to its lack of fertile soil and its high population of territorial delvine. Though the sea creatures are unable to live on land, the beautiful and deceptive race has taken claim of the shores and outlying waters, bringing down any ships or witless boaters who find themselves passing by.

Get the Book!

About the Author

H.C. Newell is an American author of epic fantasy. She is best known for the Fallen Light fictional universe, in which her fantasy novel Curse of the Fallen, is set.

Newell began her writing journey at a young age. In elementary school, she would often write small plays for her and her cousins to perform. In middle and high school her love of writing transformed into fiction literature, which she would write in spiral-bound notebooks. By 2015, she had written more than 5 romance and young adult novels and several short stories. 

In 2014, Newell started her first novel series, Forthwind, which was a young adult trilogy. As she grew as an author, she found her niche in adult fantasy, and created the Fallen Light universe. This six-part novel series took Newell over seven years to create. She published her debut novel “Curse of the Fallen” in April 2021.

Newell’s works have been compared by readers to authors such as J. R. R. Tolkien, Brandon Sanderson, Andrejz Sapkowski, and Robert Jordan among others. Newell lives in Nashville, TN with her husband.

Website: https://www.hcnewell.com/ 

Linktree: https://linktr.ee/hcnewell 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

3d book display image of Creep

Enter Venari... FOR FREE!

Get a free eBook by signing up to my mailing list (unsubscribe at any time). Newsletters are generally sent out once a month (on the 13th) and contain news, freebies and bargain books!

Get Your Copy Today>>